Thai-Riffic

The scented spruce needle oils are still entering my nostrils 15 minutes after my Thai massage session ended with Christine, and I'm eagerly awaiting my next appointment. Today marked my final official workout day prior to Vineman 70.3, and to cap it off, I was to enjoy a relaxation massage to free up my tight muscles.

My muscles are not tight anymore.  They were gently tugged, posed and manipulated back to their rightful positions over the course of two hours in ways I wasn't used to.  Before your minds go racing to places they shouldn't, I was actually wearing shorts and a T-shirt.

Thai massage is unlike any massage I've experienced before. It almost feels more medicinal than therapeutic.  For example, Christine released a huge energy field in my spine after several minutes of work that literally reverberated throughout my body.  The energy flow felt like the way a piano string looks -- taut and rapid.  At one point, Christine lightly closed off the blood flow in each arm to flush out toxins, producing a tingling sensation that seemed to yield an immediate relaxation sensation.

Best of all, Thai massage is not an exercise in tolerating pain the way that sports or deep tissue massages can be. It's more about body leverage and posing using the weight and balance of the massage giver.

The experience was so outstanding that Stephanie is currently in the other room enjoying the same treatment.  And I am blogging while eating sushi that she brought home as a dinner treat.

Yup, tonight is pretty darned great.  And tomorrow my taper week of Awesome continues -- a second off-day since Sunday.  Then, on Friday we make the drive up to Northern California.

It's go-time.

129 days and counting.

Definitely Tapering

I cleaned out my sock drawer last night.  Then, I organized my cycling gear and clothing. Signs A and B that I'm in a race taper.

Even though it was hard to wake up this morning for the 6 a.m. swim, I was excited to get in the pool. I didn't perform that well once I got there, but that's besides the point.  Same with my early evening bike ride (45 minutes featuring four, 90-second race-pace intervals and an easy cool down).  Loved being there, out in the surprisingly hot sun for 7 p.m., but didn't break any land-speed records.

From what Coach Gerardo has described, this sounds like a typical taper to me.  Right down to what I'm perceiving to be a heightened sense of edginess.  I'm almost cagey.  Definitely feeling more aggressive.

Out of the few races I've actually tapered for while training with Fortius Coaching, I feel the closest to that magical place called "race ready."  This is new for me, and I think it may be because I'm actually mentally open to the experience.  Just because I'm not training much doesn't mean I'm losing my fitness right now.  Quite the opposite.  I have more energy than I know what to do with, and yet I'm doing everything I can to stay rested and refreshed. That's probably my biggest challenge.  It's almost like having an unexpected energy boost throughout the day. I'm used to having to dig into reserves, but given my light schedule -- only a 45 minute run tomorrow followed by a lengthy Thai massage until I travel to Vineman -- I'm ready to bounce out of my shoes!

And my goodness, am I eating!  Today was insane, and I just ate a slice of vegan apple pie to hold me over into the morning.  Let's see, today I ate:

-- banana (pre-swim)

-- eggs, toast, berries and orange for breakfast

-- another piece of toast (PB and raisins)

-- apple

-- chicken and steak tossed salad with baby greens for lunch

-- Balance bar

-- carton of rasberries and two tangelos

-- lamb gyro, chicken, rice, salad and pita for dinner

-- vegan apple pie

AND I COULD STILL EAT!!!!

OK, it's 10 p.m. and I have too much energy.  Gonna go clean some more drawers, or do some laundry, or wash dishes, or torment the lady.

Maybe all of the above!

130 days and counting.

Resting And Loving It

No workout yesterday.  One hour of yoga today. This taper business is really starting to appeal to me!

I'm sleeping in -- well, as much as the little monster upstairs allows me to -- reading, watching sports live when they're actually happening...this is awesome!

One of the weekend's highlights included attending Fortius teammate Mike's Ironman Lake Placid send-off party.  As always, it's great to see everyone when we're not wearing spandex or swim goggles or fuel belts or smell like chlorine.  We shared training stories, watched the Ironman St. George DVD that featured a cameo from Fortius teammate Paul, and put Mike on the spot to talk about the sum of his training and thoughts going into his big race.

Amidst all the jokes I realized that my send-off isn't too far away.  Just over four months now.  Where did all the time go?  If it wasn't for this blog, the whole thing would be a blurry dream that almost doesn't seem real.  And yet I sit here, on my couch in the morning, exalting in my days off from training.  In a few years, I'll likely have kids and long for the moments when I can just train for 2.5 hours because I can.  I try to keep that in mind often, but at this very moment, taking a break just feels really good.  So I'm going with it.

Over the next few days, with a lighter training schedule, I may not have as much to write either.  Instead of forcing it, I may take a break from the blog too.  We'll see.

Besides work, the rest of the day consists of taking my bike in for a pre-race safety check and buying new gloves since I lost one on my brick on Saturday.  I'll squeeze in yoga either during a 5 p.m. session at our work gym or at 7 p.m. at Black Dog (more likely).

That's all I got for now.  Fairly uninspired stuff today, I know.  But, I'm just kind of mellow at the moment.  Resting.

Ahhhhhhhhh.

132 and 131 days and counting.

Spinning Head

Usually, my body is sore and I'm physically spent after a Saturday brick workout. Despite the heat and a nearly three-hour time time trial, it's my brain that hurts the most right now.

Don't worry, mom, I didn't crash!

Following our weekly Fortius group training session, Coach Gerardo led a Vineman 70.3 pre-race preparation discussion with Richard, Ann, Mike, Karen and me.  He's a great resource considering he has completed the Vineman course four times, and Mike has done it before too.

I think my head is spinning even more than my legs did pedaling up Mulholland Drive this morning!

I came home and am blogging almost immediately to capture as much information as possible.  In fact, before the "pretty" form you see here and below, I literally brain-dumped out as much as I could remember.

I'm labeling it as Pre-Race, Transitions and Race for those of you also preparing for other Half-Ironman events -- at Vineman or elsewhere.

Pre-Race

  • Bring a second pair of socks
  • On Friday, get to the beach by 4 p.m. before it closes.
  • Running bag needs to be delivered on Saturday and should contain salt tablets, fuel belt, extra gels and bars, hat, extra sunblock and extra pair of socks.
  • Bring bike to packet pick up to bike the run course.

Transitions

  • Put baby powder in my shoes and on my feet, along with generous helpings of tri-glide to avoid blistering
  • There's apparently a 30% grade coming out of the T1 chute.  Gerardo is suggesting clipping the shoes on the bike to ensure a safer run up the hill and putting on the shoes either while moving on the bike or at the mount point. I'm not sure what I'm going to do about this since I haven't practiced those kinds of transitions.  That's something I need to do in the future.
  • Don't fill water in my fuel belt water bottles until the first aid station, where the water will be cold and help me avoid cramping.

Race

  • Knock off a little of the pace on the bike to preserve for the run
  • Avoid people hosing you down during the run as much as possible.  Keep feet dry.
  • If warm out, wear arm coolers under wetsuit during swim.  If not, save for T1.
  • Eat breakfast at least 2 hours before your wave time.  Make sure you consume at least 600 calories.  Considering I burned 1,500 calories in just shy of three hours today in 80-something degree heat, I'm surprised it's not even higher.  Then again, we should be eating and drinking throughout the bike ride.
  • Red-tinted or clear-tinted sunglasses will be most effective dealing with the sun reflections on the bike at the race.  I have neither. Hmm.  Dark glasses will be the worst.  Those, I have.
  • Pace your own race.  Don't get caught up in competing with others.  This is going to be the most difficult thing for me to avoid.  I need to find a way to control my competitive urges.  I'll have to focus on looking at my watch, not others.
  • Watch the hills on the bike and don't be over-aggressive on climbing them.  Save your energy for the run.

Overall, the three most important tips are:

  • Knock a little off the bike race pace to conserve energy on the run.  Same goes for the swim.  It's better to lose a few minutes in the water and on the bike rather than up to an hour on the run due to dehydration.
  • Race nutrition is everything.  I should basically be drinking a full water bottle per hour on the bike, and possibly an added bottle if it's hot.
  • Run your own race.  Stay within yourself.  Pacing!  This is not a sprint or Olympic triathlon.  According to Gerardo, a Half-Ironman is the most difficult race to get right when it comes to pacing and proper nutrition.  It's a very fine balance between pushing too much and too little, and the consequences are severe when doing the latter.  Since this is my first Half-Ironman, I'm especially nervous about learning about this point the hard way.

I'm sure I forgot more than I remembered.  But this should help keep me on track during the race.  Not mentioned today but rather during my swim this past Thursday is to focus on flow and not mechanics in the water.  If I can keep my breathing in check, that should help a lot.  I found a real good breathing cadence during my 1,000 yard time trial, which netted me a personal-best 18:27.  My pace per 100 yards is now 1:52, down from 2:05 in the pool when I first started.  This also came less from worrying about my stroke and concentrating more on my breath.  My new swim PR time led Gerardo to predict it should take me roughly 37 minutes to swim 1.2 miles at Vineman.  We'll see how close he is.  So far, every time he's predicted a pace result for me, he's been pretty much right on the nose.

I hope he predicts a 5:30 Half-Ironman!  Though I suspect I'll be in the 6:00-6:30 range depending on the heat.

OK, I'm heading into the final week of Half-Ironman training.  I'm physically ready.  I'm mentally prepared.  The waiting game officially begins tomorrow, during my first weekend non- pre race off-day I can recall since joining Fortius.  I'll spend it with family, watching Le Tour and Spain vs. Netherlands (Espana wins 2-1, btw).  Along with sending Mike off in style for his first Ironman, Lake Placid.

Now, it's time to enjoy the rest of my day and night, which consists of today's Tour stage, burgers and beer with my buddy TJ and Predators.  My kind of night.

And a welcome distraction to take my mind off all these mental checklist items for next week!

133 days and counting.

We Are All Witnesses...To What?

How perfectly convenient that today is my off-day from Ironman training. Normally, I'd write about enjoying some rest and relaxation.  But the truth is, I'm a little worked up.

I got sucked into watching the LeBron James ESPN special last night, which fueled me to post on Facebook some initial reaction to the news that King James was "taking his talents to South Beach."  In this 140-character limit society, I succinctly outlined that I think James cheapened his legacy in pursuit of a more immediate path to winning an NBA Championship.

This led to -- no joke -- 23 comments on my page.  Granted, at least five of them were replies from me  defending my statement.

I'm getting pretty sick of whittling every thought or sentence down to two separate statements.  So, in response, here's my thoughts on the counterarguments lobbed against me, and why I disagree.

-- You'd do the same thing!!  One person, apparently an uber-James supporter, tried to put the Nike on my foot by asking if I had a dream job would I not take it due to loyalty.  The truth is, I've been offered more money and other perks to leave my current job for organizations with bigger and arguably better resources. While remaining in the entertainment business that I love.  I turned them down.  I work for an organization that deserves but never demands loyalty.  I've been treated extremely well, and want to return the favor.  I want to help build something special here -- even when times aren't always the best.  So yes, I walk the talk on this topic.  In other words, I would have stayed in Cleveland.  Especially after spouting how important the city, region and state are to me my entire life.  I would be tied to Cleveland, and the city would be tied to me.  Even if it meant never playing in a championship.  If that were to be my destiny, so be it.

-- Kobe would have left if he were in Cleveland. Maybe.  But he didn't leave LA even though he complained loudly about doing so (just like LeBron).  And, by the way, Kobe chose to stay with no guarantee that the Lakers would land Pau Gasol. To me, what helps define greatness in sports is building a legacy.  For one team.  Through all the ups and downs. Kobe. Jordan. Bird. Magic. Reggie Miller. Stockton. Duncan. Robinson. Paul Pierce (ugh, I hate including him on this list!). The list goes on and spans several sports.  Call me old school, but loyalty to one organization throughout a Hall of Fame career means just a little bit more than bouncing from team to team in search of glory and rings (are you listening, Shaq?).

If Kobe had left the Lakers to pursue titles elsewhere, I'd be saying the same thing about him.

-- Cleveland brought this on itself. How? They tried to do everything LeBron asked.  He wanted a center?  They brought in Shaq.  He wanted a complementary third piece?  They brought in Antawn Jamison and Mo Williams.  They brought in a top-notch coach, Byron Scott, who commanded the respect of one of James' closest friends, Chris Paul.  All the while, King James kept the franchise hanging at his beck and call.  Granted, this is as much Dan Gilbert's fault as anyone else's.  And we won't even get started on that letter he wrote.

OK, we will.

Seriously, what a poor choice of words.  I agree with Gilbert's sentiment and passion, but keep LeBron specifically out of it and focus on the future.  (Maybe a few cleverly worded jabs of the kind Phi Jackson has made a career of sharing.) That would have been a huge step in the right direction.  If I were a fan of the Cavaliers, that kind of message -- sans the overt James vitriol --would have fired me up to stay upbeat about my team in the wake of such devastating news.  Now, Cleveland looks even sadder and more pathetic a destination than before.  Which sucks considering the Cavs need a new plan for how to stay relevant in the League now more than ever.  Way to unintentionally shoot yourself in the foot, Dan.

-- Miami will go undefeated! Sure, just like the Dream Team Lakers with Karl Malone, Gary Payton, Kobe, Shaq and Fisher.  Or the Jail Blazers virtual All-Star teams of the early 2000's.  People, it takes a village, as the saying goes.  And a heck of a coach to mold all those personalities and egos.  I agree that this trio has the potential to be among the greatest the League has ever seen.  But it's about the supporting cast. As good as Magic, Kareem and Worthy were, the great Showtime Lakers teams had Cooper, Byron, Rambis, McAdoo, AC Green, etc.  Jordan's bulls had Pippen, Kucoc, Grant...uh...who else did they have?

Oh that's right, Jordan elevated average players' games enough to win multiple titles.  With rosters only slightly better than the recent Cavs teams.

Chosen One?

Savior?

Really?

So in the end, exactly what are we all witnesses to?  From where I sit, a self-absorbed, confused, massively talented young man taking the easy way out to a Championship ring.  Someone who truly did listen to his mother and did what was best for him -- and only what was best for him.  LeBron didn't even have the class to tell Cleveland properly before the actual announcement, instead giving way to higher ratings and greater drama.  Did LeBron's momma weigh in on that too? And using children as a backdrop?  It felt phony. Produced.  Too slick for its own good.

Sort of like LeBron's professed love for Ohio and his entire King James/savior persona.

Come to think of it, the fake glitz and glamour of South Beach is the perfect fit for LeBron.

Cleveland, with its collective hard-hat mentality and blue-collar work ethic, deserves better.  It always did.

134 days and counting.

Fatigued But Not Deflated

Swimming practice at 6 a.m. came and went today.  Track practice at 6 p.m. came and went as well. I was just too tired.  I'm still planning to attend tonight's swim at 7:30 p.m., but I'm not quite 100%.  It could be allergies -- my eyes are itchy and my prescription medications needed refills.  It could be Trudy and Bam-Bam -- I put a small hole in my bedroom ceiling last week with a shovel handle due to the pounding noise directly over my head that continues regularly at 6:30 a.m.  It could be the workouts themselves -- I pushed myself pretty hard during Monday's and Wednesday's brick workouts.  Maybe it's even the tapering cycle  for Vineman 70.3 taking its natural toll.

It's probably a combination of all the above.

Whatever it is, I'm tired.  So tired I slept 10 hours last night and it felt like it wasn't nearly enough all day at work.

This time, I'm smarter though.  In past races I'd probably get panic-stricken, wondering if I was getting sick or losing my fitness.  I know better.  It's not a big deal. I'm just a little gassed.  I refilled my prescriptions, took the little I have left of my Allegra, and am starting to feel a little better already.  I slept in this morning instead of dragging myself to the pool just because I thought I had to.

Besides, today's track workout was optional, with Coach Gerardo indicating I could skip it if I felt tired.

Commence skipping.

And in the next 30 minutes, commence swimming.

135 days and counting.

Ironman and Beyond

Somewhere amidst the craziness of the past few days, I'm still managing to fit in my Ironman training.  Today marked the annual LA Tri Club Wednesday Griffith Park brick, which was a welcome return to normalcy. I think the collective energy spent running around town and balancing the other important aspects of my life are taking a slight toll on me physically this week.  My bike ride was average at best, though to be fair a breezy cross-wind in the hills leading up to the Griffith Observatory slowed me down too.  The first 20 minutes of the ride were especially hard on my legs.  I couldn't tell if that's because I need more time to warm up or if I'm simply a little fatigued. It's probably a combination of both.

I picked it up on the run though, banging out 7:52, 7:38 and 7:24 miles to wrap up the day.  However, as a result of pushing it a bit I may sit out tomorrow evening's track workout depending on how I feel.  It's optional based on Coach Gerardo's schedule so we'll take it as it comes.

Let's focus on the big picture for the moment though.  Earlier today, I mentioned I signed up for my second Ironman Coeur d'Alene, Idaho. (This means I'll need to really remember how to spell this place properly!) June 2011.

Am I nuts!?  I haven't even completed my first Ironman! I have no idea what to expect or if my body can even handle it yet I'm going for it again.  Is that confidence or stupidity?  Both?  One thing it is for certain is an example of healthy peer pressure, as my Fortius buddies Richard and David are signed up as well.

Rationally speaking, the reason I signed up is that I figure I'll be in peak physical condition (knocks on wood) and want to take advantage of that as much as possible while I have the time and ability to stay that way.  Further, Stephanie and I will be married in September 2011 in all likelihood.  Completing my second Ironman at the end of June allows me to enjoy the rest of the summer, focus on wedding planning and generally relax instead of training myself into the ground right before The Big Day.  I envision that I'll still complete a couple Olympic-distance events before the wedding though and maybe one late in October just to keep me honest.  Then, my long-term goal is to focus on one more Ironman the following year, an international event in some exotic location.  After that, I'll likely switch to Half-Ironman events and ease back on the training intensity a little.

Of course, we all know that G-d laughs at those who make plans. Still, I like to hedge my bets. If I can pull it all off, it will be one heck of an adventure.

Actually, it already has been!  I can only hope and dream that the best is still left to come.

Still 136 days and counting.

Ryan's "Bad Boys" Episode

I'm almost afraid to set foot outside my condo this morning, for I have no idea what may lie in store. On Saturday, Stephanie and I experienced what we're referring to as "Weirdest Day Ever."  (This played off what we had called "Best Day Ever" about a year ago on a fantastic date.)

Last night, I nearly experienced "Longest Day Ever" courtesy of the Los Angeles Police Department.

Saturday's drama featured a horror movie plotline as the backdrop.  Yesterday's drama would have been the perfect "Curb Your Enthusiasm" episode.  And it all happened because I was trying to be a nice guy.

The fun started around 6:30 p.m. in the Carl's Jr. parking lot at the intersection of Santa Monica Blvd. and La Brea. I had left work early for two reasons.  First, my cell phone officially died during my brick workout on Monday.  Rest in Peace, oh hard-working Blackberry Pearl.  I'll never forget all the good times we shared.  Second, I was invited to attend a first cut movie screening with a production company at The Lot just off Santa Monica Blvd.

As is so often the case, I was foraging for food before the movie screening when I decided to settle upon Carl's Jr.  The food court across the street would be too complicated to navigate quickly to leave in time for the movie screening.  I ordered a chicken teriyaki sandwich and parked in the lot to scarf it down while reading a Sports Illustrated issue I just bought while purchasing my temporary replacement phone (a no-contract Nokia while my iPhone 4 is on reservation).

Just as I was finishing dinner (if you can call it that), a scruffy-looking man came over and asked me if I could spare any money for food.  Considering I was finishing my meal, the sky was shining, I was in a good mood with some time to kill -- and because I generally do give to those less fortunate when asked -- I provided some cash.

Now is a good moment to acknowledge that  many friends and I are split on this topic.  I know several generous folks who refuse to give money to those on the street.  I completely understand both sides.  My perspective is that it's "just" money and if I am so calloused as not to offer at least a dollar to someone -- regardless of how they use it -- then I've lost a part of my own soul.  My own sense of kindness and compassion.  I imagine what it would be like for me to have to ask someone else for enough change to buy a meal, and that thought alone is usually enough to open my wallet.  It is not my place to play G-d and tell people how to spend their money.  But if I can offer a moment of kindness that doesn't hurt me in the long run, I'm more than OK with that.

Of course,  I nearly had to tell that to the jail warden.

No sooner had I given the man money and started to back out of the parking lot then an LAPD squad car burst into the lot seemingly from nowhere and slammed its brakes directly behind my car.

And when I say "my" car...I mean my dad's car.

Try telling a cop who's pulling you over for what looks like a drug buy that, by the way, this isn't my car.  It's my dad's!

LAPD: "Put up your hands!"

RS: "Why?!  I didn't do anything wrong!"

LAPD: "Get out of the car immediately!  Keep your hand where I can see them!"

RS: "But I didn't do anything!"

LAPD: "Get out of the car NOW!"

I got out of the car.

I still have no idea why I'm being pulled over.

RS: "I gave the guy $5 cash!  That's it!"

LAPD: "Yeah, right.  Gimmee your license."

Meanwhile, I've got one cop with his hand on his gun staring at me while the other checks my record.

It's at this point that I realize A) I have an outstanding ticket that I need to pay. B) I'm being fingered for a drug buy, but am not totally sure. C) I'm not driving my own car.  D) My cell phone is dead -- so if I do get arrested I can't even make a call from my own phone.

Cue "Curb Your Enthusiasm" music.  All over feeling generous and giving a shady-looking dude $5 to get a cheeseburger.

As my record was being checked, I truly thought I had a very good chance to be arrested on suspicion of making a drug buy. I admittedly started to panic because the silent cop next to me wouldn't respond to any of my comments or questions.

RS: "Sir, you can search any part of me and my car.  I have no drugs, if that's what this is about."

RS: "Sir, will you at least tell your partner that the car is registered in my father Mitchell J Schneider's name?"

RS (exasperated): "Look!  I'm a triathlete for G-d's sake...I don't do any drugs!!!"

(Yes, I really said that.)

Finally, the record-checking cop -- the meaner of the two who stood almost two inches shorter than me if that's even possible -- told me I was free to go.  But before doing so, did I understand why I was pulled over?

Of course I did.  But Officer Mean further explained that the Santa Monica/La Brea intersection in particular was notorious for drug activity, and it looked incredibly suspicious for someone to hand something to a homeless guy and quickly pull away from the lot.  I agreed.  Then, Officer Mean told me I "was a better man than he was" for giving anybody anything, as he tells those guys to "pound sand" whenever they get close.

I understand his perspective and think it's equally valid.  In fact, I'm far more tempted to avoid giving money now -- which is sad.  It annoyed me that the person to whom I gave the money didn't even bother to leave the restaurant for just a moment to explain I had simply paid for a meal on his behalf.  I scratch your back, you scratch mine, right?  Wrong!  Of course, I'm not so naive to think the solicitor was completely clean.  Still, he left me hanging, and that situation could have ended a lot worse than it did.

Despite all that, I'm not sure this experience will deter me entirely from sparing some change.  I'd prefer to continue assuming that people are good until proven otherwise.  Shutting myself off to helping others because of one bad episode that lasted no more than 15 minutes doesn't feel right.

Just  please be ready to accept any and all phone calls I may be making to you.  They may be coming from a jail cell! (If my phone is even working.)

136 days and counting.

PS: Yesterday's events completely obscured the real big news of the day: I signed up for Ironman Coeur d'Alene in June 2011!  I'll write more about that later tonight or tomorrow.

Wake Up Call

Well, I won't make that mistake again. "That mistake" was misinterpreting Coach Gerardo's directions this morning during the bike portion of our Vineman simulation brick workout.  At the first climb in Hidden Valley on Portrero Road (just shy of Sly Stallone's place), Gerardo indicated that once I got to the crest, I should come immediately back.  I thought he meant the crest of the entire climb, which would have been the peak of Portrero Road before the steep and tricky descent into Camarillo.

In hindsight, I realize how silly this logic was.  But, I was in a cycling groove, hypnotized by a consistent pedal cadence and from riding largely by myself -- though my teammates were nearby.  It's at those moments when I'm truly in a cycling trance.  Not really thinking about anything important, but rather the ride itself.  How I'm feeling, how the ride is going, what's next whether climb, flat or descent.

I had only realized my mistake when I returned from the second Portrero peak and didn't see teammates Jason, Richard or Karen anywhere, let alone Mike's sag vehicle.  It then became a frenzied solo journey back to Las Virgenes Road and Mullholland Drive.  To make matters worse, my cell phone died.  I didn't place it in the usual Ziplock baggie, and I finally paid the ultimate price.  While the phone itself turns on, it resets itself the moment I try to dial a phone number or punch in any key, for that matter.

Finally, after an added nine miles and 20 minutes of pedaling, I rejoined Mike, quickly changed clothes and ran into Malibu Creek State Park for a 6.6 mile workout.  The time was after noon, and this was designed to simulate the expected hot and sunny conditions we'll face at Vineman 70.3 in a couple weeks.  To better combat the elements, I tried a pair of DeSoto arm coolers.  It's hard to say whether they had a physical effect, but my arms were certainly cooler and my heart-rate remained closer to 160 bpm (low zone 4) compared to the upper 160s it had been while training in 90-degree-plus weather in Arizona.  I completed the running loop, which took me through rocks, creeks, scrub, and dust to the base of the Bulldog Trail, in just about 1:05:00.  It wasn't the fastest pace, but it wasn't the easiest terrain.

Like it or not thoughm, I'm about as ready as I'm going to be for a Half-Ironman.  I remember thinking during the run that the discomfort I was feeling at the end of the run is only going to be compounded on race day. Especially since I'd need to bang out another 6.5 miles before finishing, not to mention adding a 1.2 mile swim and nine more miles to my bike ride.

So while the physical aspects of today's training session were valuable, the most valuable aspect by far was the metaphorical splash of cold water on my ego that just because I can fare well in an Olympic distance triathlon...we're about to enter completely new territory.  What I've done in the past does not matter one bit at a Half-Ironman.

Wake up call received.

Just not from my defunct cell phone.

137 days and counting.

A Most Bizarre Wedding Adventure

We have narrowed our wedding destinations down to three. How we arrived at that decision is a story all its own.

As I eluded to in yesterday's brief post, it's quite the story.  Twenty-four hours later, it feels just as surreal. Stephanie and I started the morning late for our 11 a.m. appointment at Acacia Mansion, in Ojai.  The drive leading into Ojai was pretty enough, though it brought back many memories of being dragged to Camp Ramah in the hills as a kid (that's another story for another time).  As we got closer to Acacia, Steph remarked how the wedding directions on our invitations would require us to use a beat-up and rundown muffler shop and a sanitation plant as landmarks.  We had no idea how accurate these omens would be.

We actually passed the "mansion" without realizing it.  Acacia was on a small nondescript street filled with unassuming houses and a corner liquor store.  We looked at each other with incredulous expressions as we pulled up to the "mansion."  It was just larger than the other homes on the street.  Roosters crowed in the distance.

Acacia Mansion was the depiction of false advertising.  The photos, as you can see from this link, make the venue seem like a Santa Barbara villa.  What wasn't advertised was the fact that Acacia doubled as someone's home.  Or that the insides looked more suited for a Halloween party, complete with a creepy player piano that ought to have belched its haunting tunes at the Magic Castle alongside Irma. Or that rooster and dog crap were splattered all over the patio, along with the stench of horses on the side barn.

This is why the internet needs Smell-O-Vision.

In short, we couldn't have gotten out of there faster, though we were polite to the owner and listened to her spiel.

I think I left skidmarks on that street from peeling out to get back on the road. Our destination salvaged our time in Ojai altogether: The Ojai Valley Inn.  But it wasn't the destination itself that made this visit memorable.  Not even close.

It was the fact that we ran into not one, but two couples with whom I've worked for or with over the past several years.

We were in Ojai.  Bascially 1.5 hours from civilization.  On the back of a Cadillac golf cart (yes, you read that right).  On a tour of the wedding venue, when off the back of the cart I spotted my friends Jason and Jennifer (who were so instrumental in my LA Marathon rallying run), and then at the very end of the venue site check, my old boss at BNC, Doug, and his longtime girlfriend Tracy.  In both instances, we spotted our friends just as they were either emerging from the spa or their car.  It honestly changed my perception of the venue completely.  I've never wanted to be married at a conventional golf or country club.  I'm not really a country club kind of guy, to be honest.  But, these folks are good people whom I look up to, and Jason and Jen were in fact engaged and married at the Inn.  We changed our plans to dine with Jason and Jen, listened to their wedding experience, enjoyed the cool breeze and completely pictured ourselves being married under the shade of a giant oak tree.

The Ojai Valley Inn is now one of our three finalists, all because of two bizarre, random encounters.

By now we were almost an hour late to our appointments in Los Olivos.  To make up time, we shot across Highway 150 and caught some stunning views of Lake Casitas.  I made a mental note to return here with my bike one day. Climbing and descending the picturesque hills would make for a fantastic ride.

With the windows down in my dad's borrowed 1981 Corvette Stingray T-top, we raced through Highway 154 and past Lake Cachuma towards our next destination, Figueroa Mountain Farmhouse.  To say that Figueroa Mountain Farmhouse is nestled in the Los Padres wildnerness would be a MASSIVE understatement.  In fact, what transpired getting to and from the farmhouse -- not to mention the visit itself -- had all the makings of a horror movie.

Judge for yourself.

A wildly in-love couple searching for wedding venues is charmed by the promises of a beautiful, rustic wedding off the beaten path.  The "farmhouse" as it's called lies beyond the outskirts of a small, charming time filled with all the trappings of Americana -- especially on July 4 weekend.  To reach the destination, the couple passes a bizarre sight all its own -- Michael Jackson's former Neverland Ranch, and remarks unknowingly how creepy it felt just to be in the same neighborhood.

That would be the most normal part of the next hour.

The road to the farmhouse began to wind up a mountain road that quickly became devoid of any other vehicles except for construction tankers.  Gretchen, the friendly host of the farmhouse, instructed the couple to just keep driving for another 20 minutes up this road until we found a side road with a mailbox and an address.

Okayyyyy...

When the couple comes to the side road, it's not paved and filled with gravel.  The descent is at a 15-degree angle. The couple is driving a sports car, but decides to brave the elements.

How far could the farmhouse be from here?

Very, very far, is the answer.

The 'Vette performed as admirably as it could.  Until an 8-percent grade stood in the way between the couple and the farmhouse.  The car groaned and whined.  The temperature gauge rose.  It was time to shut off the engine or be stranded.

The couple is now frazzled.  Where the hell are we?  Why are we here?  Haven't we seen enough wedding venues at this point?  How are we going to get out of here?

And then it hit the couple...we may be fodder for a death trap.  Maybe the farmhouse is a clever rouse to bring young lovers out into the wilderness -- where nobody can hear them scream.  This greatly displeased the female.  The male was more concerned about his father's 'Vette -- knowing that if the farmhouse didn't kill him, Mitch most certainly would.

Gretchen arrived in her Land Rover to rescue us. She reminded me -- err, the leading male -- of Rebecca de Mornay.  Yeah, the one from The Hand that Rocks the Cradle.  She seemed to be a pure-bred Scandinavian, and far too alluring to be the caretaker of a rustic farmhouse in the middle of nowhere.  It didn't add up.  The crystal blue eyes were innocent enough, but the devilish grin offset Steph to the point where she didn't want to be in any confined space with the caretaker.

The blunt metal objects hanging in the kitchen inside the farmhouse didn't help.  Nor did the comment from the caretaker that she often desired to project images from horror movies out onto the trees in the looming distance at night while guests were on site.

To be fair, this was also the point where I fully expected a Blair Witch Project sequence to occur as the doors bolt shut, Steph and I get separated, and full-on carnage ensued.

This was also the point where I decided that we were officially done wedding venue shopping.

Stephanie and I eventually fled from the farmhouse, not even waiting for Gretchen to guide us off the dirt road in case we had car trouble.

G-d bless that 'Vette.  In the movie, the car would stall, we'd be forced to stay overnight, and the search parties would still be hunting us down. All while the caretaker giggles and playfully tells the police that no visitors ever came on property, but they should come on in to try the mince meat pie she just baked up.

If we could have made the Scooby-Doo running sounds as we bolted to our car, we would have.  The dust cloud caused by the Vette is probably just now settling down.

As we sped back towards civilization -- if Neverland Ranch can be called that -- I calmly told Steph that we were no longer visiting wedding venues.

She whole-heartedly agreed.

The rest of the evening was lovely.

We dined at Brothers Restaurant at Mattei Tavern in Los Olivos, which if we get married at the Firestone Vineyard in town would be the site of our rehearsal dinner.  Our hands were still shaking from our Freddie Krueger-near miss, but it didn't stop us from scarfing down by far the best pork chop and applewood bacon mashed potatoes I've ever eaten.  Not to mention the homemade shortbread berries 4th of July sundae.

On our way out of town, we checked out the Fess Parker Inn as a possible place for guests and Steph and I to stay for the wedding.  While the hotel itself is small -- only 10 rooms -- it was charming and quaint enough for the town's official cat to prop herself in a lobby chair and proceed to clean herself in unmentionable places. (Because she can.)

Yep, we'd experienced it all yesterday.

Finally, about 12 hours after we started, we stumbled back home and went straight to bed.

As unbelievably ecstatic as my night with the Lakers was a few weeks ago, yesterday's wedding venue adventure was equally unbelievable -- in a creepy, bizarre way.

Surely there's a movie plot in this story somewhere.  I may just have to write it one day.

138 days and counting.